Teams with the Most World Series Wins

Discover the legendary MLB teams with the most World Series wins. Explore the history and key players behind the most successful franchises in baseball.

April 29, 2024

The Bronx Bombers. The Bronx Zoo. Murderer’s Row. The Evil Empire. From Ruth to DiMaggio to Mantle to Reggie to Jeter to Judge, the New York Yankees have — for better or worse — been Major League Baseball’s most iconic team since their inaugural season in 1903.

From 1923 through 2000, the Yankees won 26 World Series — more than 33 percent of all Fall Classics. The Bombers have only won one title since beating the cross-town Mets in 2000, but they have vastly more championships than the next closest team.

Here is a look at the teams with the most World Series titles in MLB history.

1. New York Yankees (27)

Years won: 1923, ’27, ’28, ’32, ’36, ’37, ’38, ’39, ’41, ’43, ’47, ’49, ’50, ’51, ’52, ’53, ’56, ’58, ’61, ’62, ’77, ’78, ’96, ’98, ’99, 2000, ’09

December 26, 1919 — the day that changed baseball. The Boston Red Sox traded Babe Ruth to the Yankees for $125,000 ($2,256,734.10 in today’s dollars) and two players to be named later. The rest is, as they say, history — Ruth led the Bombers to their first four titles (the Great Bambino had already won three WS titles with the Red Sox) and set the all-time home run record with 714.

The 1927 team was known as ‘Murderer’s Row,’ named for the first six players in the order — Earle Combs (.356), Mark Koenig, Ruth (.356, 60 HR, 164 RBI), Lou Gehrig (.373, 47, 175), Bob Meusel, and Tony Lazzeri. Six members of the ’27 team eventually were elected to the Hall of Fame.

Joe DiMaggio joined the Yankees in 1936 and helped lead the team to nine titles, along the way setting the record for longest hitting streak ever at 56 games in 1941 — a record which still stands today. Mickey Mantle took the torch in ’51 and led the Bombers to six more titles after Joe D retired.

Two other Yankee dynasties followed. Owner George Steinbrenner, always willing to spend top dollar for the best MLB talent, signed free agent Reggie Jackson prior to the 1977 season. “Mr. October” hit seven home runs and drove in 16 runs in consecutive WS victories over the Dodgers in 1977 and ’78.

The Yankees also have the most famous dynasty over the past three decades, winning four rings from 1996-2000. The 1998 team won a then-American League record 114 wins and the Yanks swept the San Diego Padres in the World Series. The roster included future Hall of Famers Derek Jeter, Mariano Rivera, Tim Raines and Joe Torre.

2. St. Louis Cardinals (11)

Years won: 1926, ’31, ’34, ’42, ’44, ’46, ’64, ’67, ’82, 2006, ’11

After a decades-long drought which included heartbreaking seven-game World Series losses to the Royals (1985) and Twins (1987), the Cardinals and manager Tony LaRussa finally broke through in 2006 and 2011. Those teams had the franchise’s greatest slugger in Albert Pujols, but David Freese is a name that will forever live in Cardinal lore. In the bottom of the ninth in Game 6 in 2011, Freese was down to his final strike with two runners on and the Rangers leading by two runs. He hit a game-tying triple to the right-field wall, then hit a walk-off HR in the bottom of the 11th to send the Series to Game 7.

The 1960s Cardinal champions had their own slate of stars, including Lou Brock, Curt Flood, Bob Gibson, and Tim McCarver.

3. Boston Red Sox (9)

Years won: 1903, ’12, ’15, ’16, ’18, 2004, ’07, ’13, ’18

Babe Ruth led Boston to three titles — primarily as a pitcher with a 89-46 record — before being shipped to the Yankees in 1919. The “Curse of the Bambino” persisted until the 2004 Red Sox rallied from a 0-3 deficit vs the Yankees in the ALCS and then swept the St. Louis Cardinals for their first title in 86 years.

David “Big Papi” Ortiz helped the Red Sox win two more titles before retiring, and the BoSox added their ninth with a 4-1 victory over the Los Angeles Dodgers in 2018.

3. Oakland Athletics (9)

Years won: 1910, ’11, ’13, ’29, ’30, ’72, ’73, ’74, ’89

Only two franchises in MLB history have won three straight titles — the A’s and the Yankees. From 1972-’74, the A’s had one of the best pitching staffs in baseball in Jim “Catfish” Hunter, Vida Blue, Ken Holtzman, John “Blue Moon” Odom and reliever Rollie Fingers. They beat the Reds and Mets in seven games, then beat the Dodgers in five.

5. San Francisco Giants (8)

Years won: 1905, ’21, ’22, ’33, ’54, 2010, ’12, ’14

Mays, McCovey, and Marichal couldn’t get it done in San Fran, and Will “The Thrill” Clark and Barry Bonds couldn’t get it done, either. But MadBum did. It took over five decades for the Giants to finally win a title after moving to the West Coast, and Madison Bumgarner was one of the main reasons. The left-hander allowed only one earned run in 36 innings in helping SF win the Series in 2010, ’12 and ’14 — including five innings of two-hit, zero-run ball on only two days’ rest in Game 7 to finish off the Royals.

6. Los Angeles Dodgers (7)

Years won: 1955, ’59, ’63, ’65, ’81, ’88, 2020

The Dodgers changed baseball forever by fielding Jackie Robinson in 1947, then launched MLB on the West Coast by joining the Giants in moving to California for the 1958 season. The heroes of those early LA Dodger champions included some of the all-time greats — Sandy Koufax, Don Drysdale, Duke Snider, Gil Hodges, Maury Wills and Frank Howard.

Years later, manager Tommy Lasorda guided the Dodgers to a revenge World Series win over the Yankees in 1981 and a Series championship against a dynasty in the making in the Oakland A’s with the help of a gimpy Kirk Gibson and his pinch-hit home run in 1988. Clayton Kershaw, Mookie Betts, Justin Turner and Corey Seager were stars of the 2020 championship over the Rays.

7. Pittsburgh Pirates (5)

Years won: 1909, ’25, ’60, ’71, ’79

Puerto Rican legend Roberto Clemente batted .414 and had a hit in all seven games in the 1971 Series against the Baltimore Orioles to earn Series MVP. Eleven years earlier, Clemente had hit safely in all seven games in the 4-3 WS victory over the Yankees.

In the 1960 Series, however, Bill Mazeroski was the ultimate hero. In the bottom of the ninth, Mazeroski hit a home run off Ralph Terry to give the Pirates a 10-9 victory and the world championship. Mazeroski is the only player to hit a walkoff home run in a World Series Game 7. Joe Carter is the only other player to end a Series with a home run, hitting a shot to lift the Toronto Blue Jays to a title over the Philadelphia Phillies in Game 6 in 1993.

7. Cincinnati Reds (5)

Years won: 1919, ’40, ’75, ’76, ’90

Rose, Morgan, Bench, Griffey, Foster, Perez — aka ‘The Big Red Machine.” It was one of the most amazing lineups in MLB history. The Reds defeated the Red Sox 4-3 — with all games decided by one run — in the 1975 World Series, then swept the Yankees in 1976.

In one of the more surprising World Series finishes, Barry Larkin and manager Lou Piniella swept the formidable Oakland A’s in 1990 thanks in large part to “The Nasty Boys” — relief pitchers Rob Dibble, Randy Myers and Norm Charlton.

Betting With Tipico

As you prepare to place some MLB wagers with Tipico — log in or register here — check out some of our other great baseball content, including:

Alex Valdes
Alex Valdes is Web Content Manager at Tipico North America. He has written, edited and performed user and site analysis at MoneyTalksNews, NBC Sports, MSN, Bing, MSNBC, as well as newspapers and magazines.