Unveiling Greatness: Top 10 Longest NBA Winning Streaks

Dive into NBA history's longest winning streaks with our comprehensive analysis. Uncover the resilience, skill, and teamwork defining iconic moments.

December 5, 2023

Winning streaks are among the most amazing feats in sports. Maintaining excellence, poise and resiliency over an extended period of time against a long line of opponents while overcoming challenges that arise in each game is always a daunting task.

The NBA has had its share of long win streaks, involving the greatest players and teams the Association has ever known.

Top 10 Winning Streaks in NBA History

These are the longest winning streaks in NBA history. Note that winning streaks include only regular season games and do not include the playoffs.

1. 33 wins — 1971-72 Los Angeles Lakers

LA didn’t lose in November and December and went on to rack up a 69-13 regular season record and ultimately win the NBA title. The team featured legends Jerry West, Gail Goodrich, Happy Hairston, Wilt Chamberlain and future five-time title-winning coach Pat Riley off the bench. Ironically, the streak was ended by the Milwaukee Bucks and the superstar center who years later would join the Lakers – Lew Alcindor (Kareem Abdul-Jabbar).

2. 28 wins – 2014-15/2015-16 Golden State Warriors (spanning two seasons)

Led by the Splash Brothers of Stephen Curry and Klay Thompson, the Dubs’ streak began in the last month of the 2014-15 regular season but did not include their championship run through the playoffs for the franchise’s first title in 40 years.

Curry, Thompson and Draymond Green continued their onslaught on the NBA to start the 2015-16 season with a 24-0 start. The streak was ended by the same team that stopped the ’71-’72 Lakers’ run – the Bucks. The Warriors eventually set an NBA record at 73-9, but lost in the NBA Finals after a stunning comeback by LeBron James and the Cleveland Cavaliers.

The Heat never lost two games in a row in the final five months of the regular season and playoffs.

3. 27 wins – 2012-13 Miami Heat

The big three of LeBron James, Dwyane Wade and Chris Bosh led a nearly unbeatable Miami team that eventually beat the San Antonio Spurs for their second straight title. The Heat never lost two games in a row in the final five months of the regular season and playoffs. To keep the run going, Miami had to overcome a 17-point deficit and two 11-point deficits. The Chicago Bulls eventually snapped Miami’s streak.

4. 22 wins — 2007-08 Houston Rockets

The Rockets were led by future Hall of Famer Tracy McGrady (21.6 ppg, 5.9 apg), 7-6 Chinese star Yao Ming (22.0 ppg, 10.8 rpg, 2 bpg) and former Duke star Shane Battier. They didn’t get far in the playoffs, losing in the first round to the Utah Jazz without the injured Yao.

5. 20 wins (Two teams tied)

1947/1948-1948/1949 Washington Capitols (over two seasons)

The legendary Red Auerbach coached this team in the Basketball Association of America, which became the National Basketball Association after the 1948-49 season. Bob Feerick led the team with 16.1 points per game.

1970—71 Milwaukee Bucks

Lew Alcindor teamed with “The Big O,” Oscar Robertson, to lead the Bucks to the NBA title. Alcindor, who had won three NCAA titles with UCLA, averaged 31.7 ppg and 16.0 rpg. Robertson and Bob Dandridge averaged 19.4 and 18.4 ppg, respectively.

7. 19 wins (Four teams tied)

1999-2000 Los Angeles Lakers

Featuring one of the greatest 1-2 punches in NBA history – Shaquille O’Neal and Kobe Bryant – the Lakers also had a 16-game win streak that same season. They survived tough playoff series with the Portland Trail Blazers and Sacramento Kings before beating the Indiana Pacers for the first of three straight NBA titles under head coach Phil Jackson.

2008-09 Boston Celtics

Future Hall of Famers Paul Pierce (20.5 ppg), Ray Allen (18.2 ppg) and Kevin Garnett (15.8 ppg) led Boston to the best start in NBA history at 27-2 but eventually lost to Dwight Howard and the Orlando Magic in the Eastern Conference semifinals. KG suffered a season-ending injury in February.

2013-14 San Antonio Spurs

Tim Duncan won his fifth NBA championship a stunning 15 years after his first one with the Spurs and coach Gregg Popovich. Also leading the team were fellow future Hall of Famers Tony Parker and Manu Ginobili, as well as third-year star Kawhi Leonard. They beat LeBron James and the Heat in the NBA Finals to avenge the previous season’s Finals defeat.

2014-15 Atlanta Hawks

The Hawks won their first division title in 21 years, capturing the Southwest Division with a 60-22 mark. The team was led by Paul Millsap (16.7 ppg, 7.8 rpg), Jeff Teague (15.9 ppg, 7.0 apg), Al Horford (15.2 ppg) and Kyle Korver (.492 3-point pct).

Start Your Win Streak with Tipico!

You think any NBA teams will go on a tear this season? If you follow the NBA all year round, be sure to set some money aside to bet on the NBA Finals. We’ve also got a wide varieity of wagering options for all games as well as futures and player props.

Click here to log in or register if you are in one of our four service states – Ohio, New Jersey, Iowa and Colorado.

And while you’re at it, check out our state pages to see our latest promos!

Alex Valdes
Alex Valdes is Web Content Manager at Tipico North America. He has written, edited and performed user and site analysis at MoneyTalksNews, NBC Sports, MSN, Bing, MSNBC, as well as newspapers and magazines.